Wednesday, January 13, 2010

What's New Wednesday: A Look at Next Weeks New Releases

-For the Week of January 17th-


Pub. Date: January 21, 2010
Format: Hardcover, 368pp

Synopsis: (From the Publisher)
     A fresh and intriguing historical novel told in the voice of Queen Elizabeth I's governess.

Katherine Ashley, the daughter of a poor country squire, happily secures an education and a place for herself in a noble household. But when Thomas Cromwell, a henchman for King Henry VIII, brings her to the royal court as a spy, Kat enters into a thrilling new world of the Tudor monarchs.

Freed from a life of espionage by Cromwell's downfall, Kat eventually befriends Anne Boleyn. As a dying favor to the doomed queen, Kat becomes governess and surrogate-mother to the young Elizabeth Tudor. Together they suffer bitter exile, assassination attempts, and imprisonment, barely escaping with their lives. But they do, and when Elizabeth is crowned, Kat continues to serve her, faithfully guarding all the queen's secrets (including Elizabeth's affair with the dashing Robert Dudley) . . . and ultimately emerging as the lifelong confidante and true mother-figure to Queen Elizabeth.







Pub. Date: January 21, 2010
Format: Hardcover, 368pp







  
Synopsis: (From the Publisher)
Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption

It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.

Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Bront√ęs conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever.

Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.



                                               

  Pub. Date: January 19, 2010
 Format: Hardcover, 752pp









Synopsis: (From the Publisher)
An epic novel of the turbulent English Civil War seen through the lives of those that fought for peace and struggled for love

Set against the terrible struggle of the English Civil War, Rebels and Traitors is the story of how this turbulent era effected everyone, from rich to poor, and the hopes and dreams that carried them through years of deprivation, bloodshed and terror. When Gideon Jukes and Juliana Lovell, who are on opposites sides of the struggle, meet during one of the era’s most crucial events, their mutual attraction brings the comfort and companionship for which they both have yearned. But the flowering of radical thought collapses; its failure leads to endless plots and strange alliances. And shadows from the past threaten them individually and together in their hard-won peace. Like Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind and John Jakes’ North and South, Lindsey Davis brings to life a turbulent time through the stories of those who struggled, fought, lived and loved on all sides of a defining and devastating time.

14 comments:

Jill Buck said...

Those all sound interesting!

Anonymous said...

I cannot wait to read Book of Fires - it promises to be unusual ~

Katy said...

I'm looking forward to The Book of Fires too, and am now interested in Rebels and Traitors.

Blodeuedd said...

Oh Cromwell was a henchman, and I who liked him in Wolf Hall, well I guess it depends on who is writing

Passages to the Past said...

I just got The Queen's Governess and can't wait to read it - I LOVE anything with Elizabeth I. I'm reading Book of Fires right now and so far, so good - although I hope it picks up a bit soon.

Anonymous said...

The Queens Governess sounds intriguing, Elizabeth was a precocious child, so a novel covering her childhood as well as her adult life would be fascinating, Katherine Ashley sounds fascinating in her own right. The Book of Fires also sounds interesting and I love the cover art for that one.

Unknown said...

Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

The Queen's Governess sounds especially intriguing!

Tonya said...

The Book of Fires was an AWESOME read!!! I love Agnes. I was cheering for her all the way through. -- I love your blog!!

Ash said...

I just gave you an award: http://englishmajorjunkfood.blogspot.com/2010/01/super-scribbler-lovely-blog-and-50.html

Jodie said...

Thanks for the comment! :-) I love all of Steve Berry's work but The Romanov Prophecy is my favorite.
I added your blog to my Reader. I can't wait to see your recommendations. I love historical fiction but am currently taking a little mystery break!

Tales of Whimsy said...

You choices always have the most beautiful classic covers.

Liz @ Cleverly Inked said...

The book of fire sounds amazing

(Diane) Bibliophile By the Sea said...

Sounds like some great books there. Book of Fires especially appeals to me. enjoy

Viola said...

I am interested in 'The Queen's Governess.' The problem is that the woman who played her in 'Young Bess' was such a good actress and so unglamorous that she has stayed in my mind and she just doesn't appeal to me as a romantic heroine! I'll have to try to replace her with someone else.

Thank you so much for looking at my blog because I love yours. I will certainly link here soon.